ECR Passport

Emigration Check Required – ECR Passport
According to the Emigration Act of 1983, Emigration Check Required (ECR) categories of Indian Passport holders – duly requires the “Emigration Clearance” from the office of Protector of Emigrants (POE), Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs for traveling to the following listed countries:

United Arab Emirates (UAE) Afghanistan
Qatar Indonesia
Oman Lebanon
Kuwait Malaysia
The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia Thailand
Bahrain Iraq (Emigration is banned)
Libya Syria
Jordan Sudan

However, there’s a provision by Emigration Policy Division of Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs which allows the ECR passport holders to travel abroad for purposes others than employment to leave the country on production of a valid passport, valid visa along with the return ticket. These documents are demanded at the Immigration Counters at all the International airports in India.